INDIA 2024 India News Kerala

Attingal braces for fierce battle

A union minister, a sitting member of Parliament, and a sitting member of the legislative assembly are vying for the coveted seat…reports Asian Lite News

The electoral battleground in the Attingal Lok Sabha constituency of South Kerala is ablaze with competition, featuring a formidable lineup of candidates including a union minister, a sitting member of Parliament, and a sitting member of the legislative assembly all vying for the coveted seat. Attingal’s diverse terrain, encompassing hills, midlands, and coastal areas, presents a formidable challenge for candidates seeking to connect with voters in their quest for electoral success.

Sitting MP Adoor Prakash of the Congress finds himself embroiled in a fierce contest, with stiff competition from LDF candidate V Joy, the CPI(M)’s sitting MLA, and BJP’s V Muraleedharan, who also serves as the Union Minister of State for External Affairs. Muraleedharan, deeply engaged in canvassing within tribal settlements of the constituency, expressed optimism regarding his chances, highlighting the need for effective implementation of central government schemes in these areas.

During his campaign, Muraleedharan engaged with tribal communities, acknowledging their concerns and advocating for their rights, as witnessed during his visit to the Moododu tribal settlement camp at Kallar. While interacting with PTI, Muraleedharan underscored his commitment to representing the interests of the constituency, emphasizing his familiarity with the region’s dynamics and his belief in BJP’s growing influence across Kerala.

In contrast, LDF candidate V Joy’s campaign exuded enthusiasm and energy, particularly evident during his rallies in semi-urban areas. Joy, buoyed by his performance as an MLA, confidently touted his credentials and lambasted his opponents for their alleged failures in delivering development to the constituency. He rallied supporters, urging them to uphold the state’s interests and constitutional values by voting for the LDF.

What is boosting the confidence of Joy and the CPI-M is the fact that all the seven Assembly seats in the Attingal Lok Sabha constituency are held by the ruling Left parties — five by the CPI-M, and two by the CPI.

UDF candidate Adoor Prakash, while pressed for time during interactions with the PTI team, exuded confidence in retaining the seat. Dismissing allegations of BJP support and opposition criticism, Prakash emphasized his track record of initiating developmental projects and connecting with constituents, especially during the holy month of Ramadan.

As the election fervor intensifies, candidates are leaving no stone unturned in their quest for victory in Attingal, a constituency historically dominated by the LDF but which saw a shift in 2019 with Adoor Prakash’s win.

While Joy was the first to hit the campaign trail, Prakash and Muraleedharan have just started theirs, though one thing is certain — Attingal is one of the few seats among the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala that will witness a real triangular poll battle this time.

ALSO READ-Stalin to lead I.N.D.I.A. Alliance in TN, Puducherry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *