India News Politics

Congress constitutes panels to examine performance in LS polls

Former Union Minister Veerappa Moily and party leader Harish Chaudhary are members of fact-finding committee for Chhattisgarh…reports Asian Lite News

Having suffered a whitewash in a few states and poor performance in some others in the Lok Sabha polls, the Congress on Wednesday formed fact-finding committees for seven states apart from the union territory of Delhi to assess the reasons and take remedial steps.

Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge constituted fact-finding committees. The states for which the committees have been set up are Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Odisha Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka and Telangana.

Congress did not get a single seat in Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Delhi and Himachal Pradesh and did not perform to its expectations in party-ruled Karnataka and Telangana. Himachal Pradesh is also ruled by Congress.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan and party leaders Saptagiri Ulaka and Jignesh Mevani will look into the party’s performance in Madhya Pradesh where BJP has been in power since 2003 except for a 15-month period in between.

Former Union Minister Veerappa Moily and party leader Harish Chaudhary are members of fact-finding committee for Chhattisgarh.

Party leaders Ajay Maken and Tariq Anwar will assess the party’s performance in Odisha, where BJP has formed its first government. The Congress won 21 seats in assembly and only one seat in Lok Sabha polls in the state.

In Delhi, the party did not win any seat despite alliance with Aam Aadmi Party. PL Punia and Rajani Patil will assess the party’s performance in Delhi, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

Madhusudan Mistry, Gaurav Gogoi and Hibi Eden are members of the fact-finding committee for Karnataka.

Party leaders PJ Kurien, Rakibul Hussain and Pargat Singh will give a report about the party’s performance in in Telanagana.

Congress improved its performance over the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls and won 99 parliament seats in this year’s general elections. The INDIA bloc, of which Congress is a part, won 234 seats while the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance won 293 seats. (ANI)

ALSO READ-Transformed Rahul behind Congress show in LS polls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *