INDIA 2024 India News Politics

Congress Names Four More Candidates From Rajasthan

All the four candidates named on Monday are new faces….reports Asian Lite News

The Congress on Monday named four more candidates from Rajasthan for the Lok Sabha elections, including veteran BJP leader Prahlad Gunjal, who joined the party recently, from Kota.

The others are Ramchandra Chaudhary from Ajmer, Sudarshan Singh Rawat from Rajsamand, and Damodar Gurjar from Bhilwara.

The Congress has so far decided on candidates for 24 of the state’s 25 seats, of which it is contesting 22 and has left the Nagaur seat for Hanuman Beniwal’s Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) and Sikar for the CPI-M.

It is yet to announce a candidate for the Banswara seat and this seat can be left for the BAP.

All the four candidates named on Monday are new faces.

Gunjal replaces Ramnarayan Meena and Rawat comes in place of 2019 candidate Devkinandan Gurjar. Meanwhile, the 2019 candidates from Ajmer and Bhilwara, Riju Jhunjhunwal and Rampal Sharma, respectively, have joined the BJP.

Meanwhile, the Congress on Sunday, in its fifth list for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, had replaced its Jaipur candidate Sunil Sharma with former Rajasthan minister Pratap Singh Khachariyawas.

The party has fielded its legislator Murarilal Meena from Dausa parliamentary seat in Rajasthan.

The Congress has named candidates for all 12 seats where elections will be held in the first phase — April 19.

Murarilal Meena’s wife Savita Meena, had contested the Dausa seat in 2019 on a Congress ticket, but she had lost the polls.

This time, Murarilal Meena has been made the candidate.

Congress candidate from Jaipur seat Sunil Sharma on Sunday offered to give up his candidature over the ‘Jaipur Dialogues’ matter.

Sunil Sharma was the target of Congress supporters on social media for being the director of Jaipur Dialogues forum, which backs the right-leaning ideology.

Congress MP Shashi Tharoor had also raised questions about giving a ticket to Sunil Sharma for his links with Jaipur Dialogues.

While, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released its fifth list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP has released the names of the candidates for the Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Odisha, Rajasthan, Haryana, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Kerala, Karnataka, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Mizoram, Sikkim, Telangana, West Bengal and Andhra Pradesh.

Bollywood actress Kangana Ranaut has been fielded from Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi, a stronghold of Congress.The party has also fielded veteran actor Arun Govil, who played the character of Lord Ram in Ramanand Sagar’s ‘Ramayan’ from Uttar Pradesh’s Meerut.

The election for 543 Lok Sabha seats will be held in seven phases starting April 19. Nearly 97 crore voters are eligible to cast votes in the general election.

The Congress has announced names for 190 constituencies, while the BJP has announced names for 402 Lok Sabha seats so far.

New Delhi: Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge with party leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Ajay Maken, Jairam Ramesh and others briefs the media, at AICC headquarters, in New Delhi, Thursday, March 21, 2024.(IANS/Qamar Sibtain)

Robert Bruce to Contest in Tirunelveli

The Congress on Monday in its sixth list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls named Robert Bruce in Tamil Nadu’s Tirunelveli constituency.

In Tamil Nadu, the party has already announced the candidature of Karti P. Chidambaram (Sivaganga), S. Jothimani (Karur), Sasikanth Senthil (Tiruvallur SC), MK Vishnuprasad (Cuddalore), B. Manickam Tagore (Virudhunagar), K. Gopinath (Krishnagiri) and Vijay Vasanth (Kanniyakumari) for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu BJP Vice President Nainar Nagenthiran expressed his gratitude to BJP National President JP Nadda, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP State President K Annamalai for announcing his candidature from Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency.

He assured that he would bring more schemes to Tirunelveli if he won from the constituency in the upcoming polls.

Nainar Nagenthiran said, “I am thankful to BJP National President JP Nadda, PM Narendra Modi, HM Amit Shah, BJP State President K Annamalai for giving me this opportunity. Since I was a minister, I have been trying to help the people of the district and they also love me irrespective of caste and religion. I will bring more schemes to this constituency. This is my promise.”

BJP on Thursday released a list of nine Lok Sabha candidates for Tamil Nadu fielding former Telangana Governor and party leader Tamilisai Soundarajan from Chennai South and party’s state chief K Annamalai from Coimbatore.

Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting L Murugan will be in the fray from Nilgiris.

According to the list, senior leaders AC Shanmugam will contest from Vellore and Pon Radhakrishnan from Kanniyakumari.

Vinoj P Selvam will contest from Chennai Central, C Narasimhan from Krishnagiri, TR Paarivendhar from Perambalur and Nainar Nagendran from Thoothukkudi.

Soundararajan resigned from her post as Telangana Governor on Monday. This is BJP’s third list for Lok Sabha polls.

All 39 seats in Tamil Nadu will go to the polls in the first phase on April 19.

During the 2019 general elections, the DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance, which comprised Congress, VCK, MDMK, CPI, CPI(M), IUML, MMK, KMDK, TVK, AIFB, registered a landslide victory by winning 38 of the 39 seats.

The election for 543 Lok Sabha seats in the country will be held in seven phases starting April 19.

Nearly 97 crore voters are eligible to cast vote in the general election. (IANS/ANI)

ALSO READ: Turncoats Strike Rich in Uttar Pradesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *